Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 20th, 2007

Mason Dixon ballband dishclothThe day before Mother’s Day, I spoiled myself and bought the Mason Dixon Knitting book because after browsing around the many knitting blogs and forums, I found there were a lot of patterns from it that I wanted to try. Plus my Secret Pal knit one of these for me and I had to know how it was made. That was a purchase I’ll never regret, as my boys and DH got me a wonderful knitting accessory for Mother’s Day: a swing/hammock with a canopy! Very wonderful, indeed… I will be able to sit and knit these dishcloths outside while enjoying the beautiful warm weather (which will soon be blistering hot) and watching the Furryland children playing in the backyard. DH is going to put it together today and it’s gorgeous outside — I can’t wait!

14-point star dishcloth

The ballband dishcloth took me two days to complete, and I used Peaches & Creme 100% cotton in two colors. The variegated red and white was leftover from two of these 14-point star dishcloths that I knit last year at a friend’s request. She wanted to use them as hotpads, but the two I made weren’t of equal size, so I couldn’t sew them together. They work well enough as a single layer, thankfully. If you are interested in this pattern, please email me.

Regarding handknit dishcloths… I can’t bring myself to use them on a dish, but as a washcloth for the bath… I think I really like that idea. In fact, my Secret Pal sent me that knit ballband washcloth wrapped around a sweet bar of soap. I don’t think I would have thought of that idea, but it’s perfect for gifts of all types.

In other craftiness, I’m still working on the “nightmare sock”, as I’ve come to think of it. There is a Delmarva Knitters group gathering today at the local Barnes & Noble, and hopefully a sock-experienced person will be able to help me overcome my sock issues!

There is a Round Ripple crochet-along at crochetville.org, and while I don’t want to join the -along, I have wanted to make one of these baby blankets for a long time now. Now that I have a pattern, I will be able to start on it and use up some of that baby yarn stash that Granny gave me a few months ago, but considering my track record in finishing large objects, only God knows how far I’ll get with this one!

My FBB (fat bottom bag) has about six rows on it, but it’s currently on hold because I need the proper stitch markers for making this bag. The ones I’ve been creating are for knitting purposes only, as they slide from one needle to the other. However, stitch markers for crochet are actually for stitches themselves, as they are placed in a stitch of a project. Perhaps an earring would work from my jewelry box; the kind with the hook that slides into your pierced ear. Hmm, since I don’t wear earrings anymore, I do believe I’ve just recruited them back into service!

Thanks to my MIL (Nana, as we like to call her), I’ve also pulled out a cross-stitch project that I started working on a couple years ago that’s been lurking in a dark closet. Slowly, I’m adding stitches to that, but now I have so much going on that it’s going to be hard to devote a lot of time to any one project. Plus there are a bunch of stitch markers that I like to make to keep busy when I don’t feel like working on anything else. After they’re photographed, I will be posting them, and perhaps selling them at etsy.

I have more to write, but my DH is pestering me and I can’t concentrate. ARGH!!! Everyone’s outside and I’m trying to write this post, but he keeps coming over and bugging me… and he’s doing it on purpose because he knows he’s driving me nuts! ARGH! So I will finish for now… but there’s so much more that needs to be posted…. maybe later!

Read Full Post »