Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 9th, 2007

Pink WeigelaUpon completing our normal daily routine (chores in the morning, then homeschooling, then play), the boys and I went outside with our gardening gloves ready to do some more weeding on the area that my DH had started on last Sunday. We didn’t get very far before my teen yelled, “Look! A snake!”

Right under our front steps was a very small (maybe 18-24″ long) Eastern Garter Snake. Dare I say he was cute? Well, he was, and my teen was very excited. So much so that he ran and found a stick, then a bucket, and then crawled under the steps to catch him. Nope… I couldn’t let him do it. But I did have him run in the house and get my Nikon. Here he is:

Juvenile Eastern Garter Snake

Nana came over with her Nikon after he ran and got her too. After putting up with us blinding him with our flashes for a time, he slithered to the block foundation and disappeared in the ivy. He completely vanished without a trace! After closer inspection under the ivy leaves, we found the hole where he escaped. Safe and sound! I hope he grows big enough to be a nice rodent-catcher when he grows up!

Read Full Post »